Minnesota | Bankruptcy
1/26/12, 8:58 am
Legal Question
I have been separated from my husband for 3 years our home was foreclosed on in oct 2010 do i need to file bankruptcy with him
I have been separated from my husband for 3 years our home was foreclosed on in oct 2010 do i need to file bankruptcy with him
|
Read More Answered By: Nathan Hansen |
No, you can file separately.
Nathan Hansen 651-704-9600 |
|
Read More Answered By: David Kelly-952-544-6356 |
Typically when one has been separated for some time and is maintaining a separate household, it's almost the same as being divorced for bankruptcy purposes. Usually I would suggest to such a person that he or she file individually and not jointly.
What I would usually do of course doesn't mean that I would say that's what I would want to do in your case. Every case is different, and I have zero details about your situation except that you are separated. If you would call me for a no-cost screening over the phone, I could give you an opinion that would have a great deal more value. 952-544-6356.
This response is for general information purposes only and does not create an attorney-client relationship. |
Minnetonka, MN
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-13
Saint Cloud, MN
Questions Answered: 251
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-28
Mankato, MN
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-27
North St. Paul, MN
Questions Answered: 98
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-06
Maple Grove, MN
Questions Answered: 79
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-03
Burnsville, MN
Questions Answered: 73
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-06
Roseville, MN
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-21
Roseville, MN
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-02-03
► What if you have an account that you have not listed on the petition?
► Are individual retirement accounts exempt in chapter 7 bankruptcy?
► I have two questions. 1. we are in chapter 13 and our kids are now getting to...
► Can one spouse file bankruptcy without it effecting the other spouse, if it's only...
► I have been divorced 3 years now. the house and 2nd loan on the windows, along with...
► With a two person household with only one wage earner, can they be garnished?
► My spouse and I are going to file a chapter 13 and due to our income level will have...
More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Minnesota| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press