California | Family Law
8/29/11, 1:26 am
Legal Question
my ex served me papers and they don't have a court stamp and says "notice in lieu" is this a real document?
my ex served me papers and they don't have a court stamp and says "notice in lieu" is this a real document?
|
Read More Answered By: James Chau |
A lot of times, people will seve documents which do not have an endorsed filed stamped. That does not mean that the documents are not copies of the documentes which were filed in the court case. You would neeed to go down to the courthouse and review the records of the file to see what was actually filed in the case. You could bring it up to the judge if the other side is improperly serving you incomplete documents which often happens.
For self represented individuals you can consult with the family law facilitator self help center at your local court house.
As always please consult a local attorney prior to taking legal action. Good luck. Also please check out my Santa Clara County Family Lawyer blog.
Law Offices James Chau 1625 The Alameda Suite 204 San Jose, CA. 95126 http://www.jameschaulaw.com/ http://sanjosefamilylawyer.blogspot.com/
|
|
Read More Answered By: Anthony Roach |
I agree with Mr. Chau. A summons and petition should have court stamps on them, and so should OSC's, but motions will not always be stamped, as the party serving is only supposed to give you a copy of what they are filing.
I'm curious as to what the "notice in lieu" - is in lieu of? |
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10414
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Covina, CA
Questions Answered: 1088
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-21
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 977
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-27
► I am the Respondent in a Divorce which was granted by default last year. I recently...
► 1. Is it true that if neither of the opposite sex partners in a domestic partnership...
► Can a father take his child on vacation without consent of the mother (father &...
► I am trying to get custody of my 5 year old son back from my mother, his...
► I had 50/50 custody of my daughter while in the state of California. I had to move...
► I live in CA. I filled for annulment in July 2009 and it was finalized in January...
► The divorce was final 3 yrs ago, she received all my IRAs and my "whole"...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press