California | Juvenile Dependency
Legal Question
I was served a subpoena to appear at a hearing. The subpoena was filed on 7/28 and left at my door onthe evening of 8/1. The hearing is 8/4. So basically I had a 2 day notice. I've just started a new job and have some training scheduled for the afternoon of 8/4. I have contacted the attorney who filed the subpoena about re-scheduling. But frankly I don't expect her to call back.
Will I be held in contempt if I don't attend?
The subpoena has no signature by anyone other than the attorney; shows no registration or markings by the court. Do I have any way out of this?


