California | Construction Law
Legal Question
Had a signed contract with customer to do home improvement. Collected 10% non-refundable deposit she has put stop hold on check and requested verbal cancellation of contract 4 days after contract signed. Can I sue for loss of proft? What Calif Code do I use on paperwork?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Timothy McCormick |
I hope you didn't collect more than $500, because the legal limit on deposits for home improvements is 10% or $500 whichever is LESS. There is also a statutory cooling off period for home improvement contracts. I don't do a whole lot of home improvement litigation so I'm not sure what the period is off the top of my head, but if it is 4 days or more, she had the right to cancel. You should know this, by the way, if you are a licensed contractor. Which brings me to the next point. If you aren't licensed you have no case. Now, assuming your deposit was legal, she was outside the cooling off period, and you are licensed, you don't need to cite code sections. Just go to the Judicial Council's website to the "Forms" tab, and fill out the breach of contract complaint forms. Bear in mind, however, that you will have an uphill battle proving you would have made a profit on the job. I've had clients pay tens of thousands of dollars to claims consultants trying to prove their lost profits on major construction jobs. It won't be much easier for you, but for less money. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12203
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices of Michael A. Olden
Moraga, CA
Questions Answered: 898
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-26
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


