California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
11/06/11, 2:26 pm

Legal Question


Hello, I signed a separation agreement that ends my job on Dec 1st. However, I will be going to work until then. The separation agreement is for about $8,000 as a "settlement" that I receive if i abide by what's in the contract. There is a non-disparagement section of the document I signed, as well as a section about confidentiality. My boss wants me to tell the entire company in a meeting that it was amicable and mutual, when it truly wasn't. Can he force me to do this? Would not saying anything to my colleagues be a form of disparagement? If I say I don't want to say anything, can he fire me for this and not have to pay the $8,000? The reason he wants me to tell everyone that its mutual is because I'm very well respected at my office and do a good job, so his reputation will suffer if people find out.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search