California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
8/19/11, 11:26 pm

Legal Question


I signed a one year lease upon moving to Sacramento for my husband to attend college. I want to break lease now though because I found out the neighbor hood is very dangerous. I have lived here since May 1st and across the street someone was shot within the first week, someone tried to break into my car, a man is watching my car and apartment, and just this week SWAT was in the complex due to a 3 hour armed stand off after a man fired a gun at a cop. I don't feel safe living here and I can't even take my 19 month old daughter outside without being afraid something might happen. Can I legally break lease and move to a safer area?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search