California  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
1/12/11, 1:30 pm

Legal Question


Sir,

I filed a Civil Sexual Harassment lawsuit against an individual in California.

I had the sheriff serve the defendant the Summon and Complaint.

I received a Proof of Service of Summon from the sheriff, which I filed with the Court.

The defendant did not appear at the Hearing and is therefore in default.

All other appropriate legal forms have been filed.

I have now filed a Request for Entry of Default (Request) with the Court hoping to receive a monetary Judgment against the defendant.

The Court Clerk has returned my Request and indicated that I need to have a proof of service against the defendant.

My question is - do I need to provide service to the defendant on the default from the Hearing or is there something else that I have not done or don't understand?

Thanks.

Alan Powers

ajp567@gmail.com

760-532-3345


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search