Texas | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
My sister and I jointly inherited our mother's residence recently (12/27/11) when she died. Ultimately my sister is going to buy my half from me. So, the question is, what must be done and what precisely is the sequence of our next steps.
Initially, is it necessary to change the name on the deed from my mother's name to my sister's and my name to reflect new/joint ownership? All we have is the will which specifies this inheritance. Is that enough? What step(s) do we take to get this done? Can we do this ourselves, or must we use a real estate attorney?
Secondly, we already have an informal agreement for the sale of my half to my sister. This includes the price, repairs that we will split including splitting the second mortgage that handled a foundation repair. We want to accomplish the sale with quality at least cost. Will we need to use a realtor or a real estate attorney? Either way, I assume a title company will need to be involved, at minimum. True?
Off all the above, what am I missing, if anything?
Lastly, the residence is collateral for the second mortgage. Can we present the death certificate to the lender and ask the loan to be erased because my mother had no money at her death? Or if we stopped paying the second mortgage, could the lender foreclose and then own/sell the property to recover the debt?


