California  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
10/25/11, 6:59 pm

Legal Question


My sister received a summons today (10/21/11) for a Law suit naming her as one of the dependents for a hearing on 11/03/11 in California. She has been accused of Notarizing false documents in a real estate transaction in May 2006 in California.

According to my sister, she has no recollection of Notarizing this deal at all. How they got a copy of her signed Jurat is a mystery to her. She only did Notary for AAA auto club members where she was employed as customer service.

This summons has been a shocker to her and has her terrified because she had no idea of any of this until today.

The summons was filed on 6/30/11, but she didn’t get it till today because she currently resides in Indiana and has been since 2009. It says on the document that she had 30 days to respond, but how can she when she received the papers 2 months after the filed date.

*** Does my sister get 30 days (due process) to respond to the summons?

*** Is there anything my sister can do? All she has are her words. The only possibilities is someone at her work place stole some notary Jurats from her desk.

*** does she have to come back to California? Unfortunately, coming here can not be done because of the short notice, and she lives very modestly raising 2 daughters by herself.

***PLEASE ADVISE!!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search