Maine | Real Estate Law
11/23/11, 1:08 pm
Legal Question
Situation; an expired lease ( house), and tenant decides to leave. How much notice is required? Is it 30 Days?
Situation; an expired lease ( house), and tenant decides to leave. How much notice is required? Is it 30 Days?
|
Read More Answered By: Jerome Gamache |
The answer depends upon the lease language. In many situations, the lease simply expires and the lease tenancy then becomes a tenancy-at-will, whereby a 30-Day notice is typically all that is required to terminate the tenancy-at-will. However, leases often include provisions stating that the lease renews, and/or the lease terms continue to govern even if the lease expires. So, you’ll want to review the lease carefully.
Finally, landlord tenant law in Maine is very technical: Notices of Termination must be worded very precisely and must be served in the correct manner and at the correct time. I strongly recommend that you consult with an attorney prior to attempting to prepare and serve your own notice of termination.
|
South Portland, ME
Questions Answered: 682
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-05
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 139
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Portland, ME
Questions Answered: 125
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-27
Portland, ME
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-14
Lewiston, ME
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Durham, NH
Questions Answered: 10
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Augusta, ME
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-12-27
► Who pays for the deed preparation? Seller or Buyer?
► Rented home with no disclosure of radon, is this a breech of contract on landlords...
► I own a property with an owners 20 ft.wide deeded right of way to the shorefront on...
► Laker waterfront property in Maine. Our property line with our neighbor is not...
► My husbands mother died in october of last year and now their step father wants the...
► Can a sole proprietor put a real estate lien on a customer/client's property for...
► Husband and i purchased home 7 yrs ago. He is refinancing under his name only as BOA...
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Maine| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press