California  |  Education Law

question bubble
9/15/11, 4:17 pm

Legal Question


My son has Autism and is a special education student. We just recently moved to Lancaster, CA and he has been attending schools here. My concern is that everytime he has had an IEP meeting, it is constantly being modified in the favor of the schools and not the student. For example, the first school he attended while we were in the process of moving down to Lancaster, made me aware that they had not many services to provide him and when I recieved his IEP it was modified to the services they did have which did not include social skills or language. The next school he attended did nearly the same, although he was not reading and doing math at a 3rd grade level, he was thrusted into it as well as put in the general ed setting. I have grown weary and fear my son is going to slip through the cracks. Please tell me what can I do or what should i do.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search