Georgia | Health Care Law
Legal Question
My son has a metabolic disorder and sees a specialist. He requires a special formula. We were buying it from this specialists office for 21 years. We recently found out we could buy it special order from a Durable Medical Equipment supplier. Once we started doing this we found out the doctors office had been charging us 10x the amount the formula cost. it is what is called an orphan drug. It is not widely used as this is a rare disorder. I suspect that not everyone was being charged the same for formula. We had insurance that paid 80% but still racked up several thousand dollars in charges. (Approximate cost was $2000 a month...where we currently get it the cost is $289 a month) Is there anything we can do legally? Thanks!


