Minnesota | Criminal Law
Legal Question
my son was 19 year old son was convicted of 5th degree possession of a controlled substance and granted a stay of adjudication and put on one year probation - is that considered a felon for filing federal and state of MN taxes ?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Thomas C. Gallagher |
A person who makes an agreement for, and recieves from a Minnesota court, a Stay of Adjudication, offers a guilty plea but the judge does not immediately accept the guilty plea (does not immediately adjudicate the defendant). The act or moment of "adjudication" by the judge is the act or moment of "conviction." As a result, the defendant who completes the period of the Stay without violating any condition, should see the charge then dismissed without conviction. A person with a pending Stay of Adjudication has not been "convicted." If the defendant violates any condition of the Stay, then the Judge may "accept the guilty plea" previously offered, thus adjudicating them and "convicting" them. I am a criminal lawyer, not a tax lawyer. A pending Stay of Adjudication is not a "conviction" of a crime, felony or otherwise. |
Top Attorneys in MN
Minnesota Lawyers
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 2487
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Gallagher Criminal Defense Services
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 816
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Robert D. Kane, Jr.
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 548
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Brandborg & Gast
Fargo, ND
Questions Answered: 441
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-17
Minnesota Lawyers - Jesperson Law Offices
Edina, MN
Questions Answered: 374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Chesley Kroon Chambers and Harvey
Mankato, MN
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-27
Ascheman & Smith, LLC
St. Paul, MN
Questions Answered: 134
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-19
Nathan M. Hansen, Attorney at Law
North St. Paul, MN
Questions Answered: 98
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-06
Law Office of Thomas B. James
Cokato, MN
Questions Answered: 86
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-11-10
Meaney & Patrin, P.A.
Eden Prairie, MN
Questions Answered: 80
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-19
Search Questions and Answers


