Indiana | Criminal Law
Legal Question
My son (18yo) was driving my car and when he saw a police cruiser following him he pulled off the road and parked the car, got out and ran away. The police officer never had a chance to order him to stop and after a long search for my son turned up nothing, the police had my car towed to the impound and put a hold on releasing it until my son appears for questioning.
I called the officer and asked them to release my car and he refused saying is was possibly involved in a felony and they need to speak with my son before they release the hold.
My question is when my son goes to the police station should he exercise his right to remain silent? If so, can they arrest him? What questions should I be asking the interrogating officer to make sure there is enough evidence to arrest him?


