Texas | Family Law
Legal Question
my son's father and i were in a relationship for almost 4 years we lived together the entire time and presented ourselves as husband and wife but we never got legally married and about three and a half months ago i decided to leave him because i got tired of the constant physical,verbal,and emotional abuse he put me through and in the beginning of january he started dating this 32 year old woman with 5 children who happens to be a paralegal for a family law attorney their getting married this weekend and 2 days ago my ex called to tell me this woman is pregnate with his child,this woman told my ex that she dosen't want to be with a man who has a child with another woman because she didn't want to deal with all of the drama it would cause, then she told him that he should sign over his rights to our son to his parents this new woman wants my ex to have nothing to do with our 3 year old son and he told me that he would only sign his rights to his parents so that he knows that he can still occasionally see our son when our son is at his parents house but he wont have any physical or financial responsibility for our child but i really dont think that he should be able to just pop in and out of my childs life that would cause psychological and emotional damage to a 3 year old espically since my ex was in our son's life everyday since he was born but i'm also not very familliar with the texas laws on this matter or my options i have made an appointment for a consultation with a board certified family law attorney on friday but before i go i really just wanted to get some more information so i know what questions to ask the lawyer like is there any way i can have his rights legally terminated but he will still have to be financially responsible for our son without without him having to sign over legal rites to his parents because he told me that there has to be two partys to care for our son that he cant just give me 100% custody. i really just want to be more prepared for my consultation so any legal advice or information you could give me would be greatly appreciated. thank you for your time :)


