Virginia | Business Law
Legal Question
Sort of long story, sorry. I am the sole owner of an LLC with 9 part-time employees. An employee stole $350-worth of equipment and later claimed a payroll dispute. The employee filed a Warrant in Debt in General District Court asking for money. I filed for an injunction, proceeding pro se in Circuit Court, for the return of the equipment. The Circuit Court judge did not hear the case, issued a ruling stating that I was practicing law without a license by representing my LLC, a class 1 misdemeanor, and denied the injunction. The General District case is coming up at the end of the month. Attorneys are not allowed in General District Court. The Warrant in Debt was filed on me, personally, and on the LLC with no service to the Registered Agent. All of the iNet literature I have found says I can represent myself pro se as an officer of the LLC but the Circuit Court judge says I can't. How do I defend myself in General District Court?


