Pennsylvania | Social Security Law
Legal Question
My spouce died recently we were
divorced. Could I still be eligible to
recieve his social security if mine is
less than his? I live in S.C now and
I know it happens here.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Randall Selagy |
Maybe:
If you are divorced, you can receive benefits based on his earnings record if: •Your marriage lasted 10 years or longer; •You are unmarried; •You are age 62 or older; •The benefit that you, the ex-spouse is entitled to receive based on your own work is less than the benefit you would receive based on his work; and
If you, a divorced spouse remarries, you generally cannot collect benefits on his record unless your later marriage ends (whether by death, divorce or annulment).
There are some other regulations. Call the Social Security Administration to find ou |
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
DIAMONDLAWYER
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 684
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-16
Law Office of Justin C Gearty Jr
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
F. Randall Selagy, P.C.
Kennett Square, PA
Questions Answered: 224
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-06
Solomon, Berschler, Schatz, & Monaghan, P.C.
Norristown, PA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Warren & McGraw, LLC
Blue Bell, PA
Questions Answered: 164
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Brandon J. Barnett Attorney At Law
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 134
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-04-19
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Search Questions and Answers


