California | Family Law
10/08/11, 1:39 pm
Legal Question
When a spouse inherits an estate is it consider a marital asset or community property?
When a spouse inherits an estate is it consider a marital asset or community property?
|
Read More Answered By: Douglas A. Crowder |
Generally, an inheritance is considered the separate property of the spouse who receives it. |
|
Read More Answered By: Timothy McCormick |
Not just generally - unless a bequest is made to both the husband and wife jointly, it is always the sole and separate property of the receiving spouse, and even if made jointly, it is each spouse's separate property as to a 50% interest (unless a different interest is specified in the bequest). Once received, however, it is subject to the same rules under which separate property owned at the time of marriage might be transmuted to community or quasi-community property. So if the receiving spouse wishes to maintain the separate property character of the bequest, they must make sure to manage it such that it is not transmuted, e.g., by co-mingling with community assets. |
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Covina, CA
Questions Answered: 1088
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-21
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 977
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-27
► I'd like to know if we can call child abuse to a parent that is not giving any...
► I am clarifying for an earlier question. Our decree states, "holiday schedules...
► I went to court to get my child support and spousal support adjusted. He got served...
► Can a Spouse file for Child Support even if they are not legally divorced, but a...
► My ex decided to apply for TANF in which now Child Support is going to address me...
► If a mother is accused for demestic violance,is she able to get joint custody of her...
► If I file for a Legal Separation, and then a divorce, does the time spent in the...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press