Florida | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
is a stale dated check still a debt,is a person still liable for payment
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Raymond LaBella |
The check is an order for payment from your bank to the payee. Whether a check is "stale" or not is a matter of bank policy, not an issue of law. Negotiation of instruments ("checks") is covered under chapter 673 Florida Statutes. Therefore, the right to negotiate is still valid, but may be dishonored by the bank (within its rights under the same statute).
If your question is whether tendering the check and failure to negotiate invalidates the underlying debt that the check was meant to pay, then that's another issue entirely. That would be a matter of contract law, and I would say that while legally you would have an argument for accord and satisfaction, the county court would still most likely uphold the debt. If we're talking big money, then I would send you to your local contract lawyer to get a consult. Your argument could go farther with the circuit court.
For more information on debts and collectibility, check out our website at www.LaBellaLaw.com. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7765
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Lucreita D. Becude, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2830
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Angelo Marino Jr. PA
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1808
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Behren Law Firm
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


