Pennsylvania | Business Law
Legal Question
I am starting a business and would like to know if it is legal to offer payment for information and leads?
What is the law/litigation in regards to this?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sharmil McKee |
It depends on the business. For example, Pennsylvania attorneys cannot offer access to certain leads (i.e. we cannot pay someone to go to an accident scene and hand-out business cards). I understand that therapist are limited by similar rules. You may be bound by some federal rules of privacy, if you have access to health care or financial information.
In terms of your exposure to a lawsuit, assuming you are not violating rules of your profession, then selling leads does not expose you to any additional liability. I read an opinion from the Pennsylvania Superior Court, stating there is no such cause of action as 'negligent referral'. Read Bourke v. Kazaras, 746 A.2d 642 (Pa. Super. 2000).
You should hire an attorney to discuss the details of your business and your liability. I am happy to help. Good luck.
Sharmil McKee
|
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Cevallos & Wong, LLP
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Gerald M. Hershenson
Yardley, PA
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-08
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 619
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Pepper Law Group, LLC
Somerville, NJ
Questions Answered: 267
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-09
Search Questions and Answers


