Kentucky | Family Law
Legal Question
In the state of Kentucky, I parental rights are voluntarily surrendered is that parent still obligated to pay child support?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gregory Napier |
The answer depends on what you mean by "surrendered". Sometimes a parent signs a voluntary consent for adoption or some other document that they think terminates their parental rights. However, signing a piece of paper does not terminate rights. The only way parental rights ever get terminated are by a judge's decree. The paper may be evidence as to your intent or could be binding once an adoption decree is entered, but it s only the judge who terminates parental rights.
Therefore, the only way child support obligation ends is when the decree terminating parental rights gets entered by a judge. Also, this only stops child support obligations from accruing going forward; already existing child support arrears remain due regardless of the termination. |
Top Attorneys in KY
Troutman & Napier, PLLC
Lexington, KY
Questions Answered: 958
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Welker Law Office
Lexington, KY
Questions Answered: 920
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Philip M. Owens, Attorney at Law
Irvine, KY
Questions Answered: 469
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-04-07
Thomas A. McAdam, III, Attorney
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Bryan Gowin Attorney at Law
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 190
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Martin Z. Kasdan, Jr., Attorney at Law
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 186
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Van Wert Brown
Lexington, KY
Questions Answered: 50
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-12-10
Neel Wilson & Clem
Henderson, KY
Questions Answered: 31
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-02-09
LeSieur Law Office
Brownsville, KY
Questions Answered: 27
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-09-04
Affordable Louisville Lawyer
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 26
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-17
Search Questions and Answers


