Maryland | Medical Malpractice
Legal Question
What is the statute for medical malpractice in the state of Maryland? My father was partially paralyzed Aug 2006 from a botched surgery. He hired an attorney who did file the malpractice. However, we just found out they canceled it without his permission. He won a large settlement from the accident that caused the injury which led him to the botched surgery and they told him since he won that, he did not need to go any further with the malpractice and pulled it. Was that even legal for them to do without his permission? Can the malpractice be refiled? He has permanent injury from the surgery and has been in a wheelchair since. The surgery happened in Maryland, he now lives in Georgia.


