Minnesota | Criminal Law
Legal Question
what is a stay of prossicution can one be obtained on a shoplifting charge?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Thomas C. Gallagher |
A stay of prosecution? I don't hear that term used in Minnesota but we have the functional equivalent. In misdemenaor cases, it is commonly called a "Continuance for Dismissal" or a "Continuance Without a Plea." It is possible for the defense and prosecution to agree on such a disposition. If a case is resolved that way, normally there are conditions. If the defendant then completes the period of the continuance without violating any condition, then the charge is dismissed without conviction. Typical conditions may include payment of court costs or prosecution costs, no same or similar offenses, stay away from certain premises. After (assuming) dismissal, since there was no guilty plea, the defendant would be eligible to Petition for Expungement under Minnesota Statutes Chapter 609A. |
Top Attorneys in MN
Minnesota Lawyers
St. Louis Park, MN
Questions Answered: 2487
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Gallagher Criminal Defense Services
Minneapolis, MN
Questions Answered: 815
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Offices of Robert D. Kane, Jr.
Eagan, MN
Questions Answered: 547
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Brandborg & Gast
Fargo, ND
Questions Answered: 441
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-17
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 420
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Minnesota Lawyers - Jesperson Law Offices
Edina, MN
Questions Answered: 374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Chesley Kroon Chambers and Harvey
Mankato, MN
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-27
Ascheman & Smith, LLC
St. Paul, MN
Questions Answered: 134
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-19
Nathan M. Hansen, Attorney at Law
North St. Paul, MN
Questions Answered: 98
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-06
Law Office of Thomas B. James
Cokato, MN
Questions Answered: 86
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-11-10
Search Questions and Answers


