California | Appeals and Writs
Legal Question
Whats the next step i take if my habeas corpus was denied in california but was cleary an error of the viewing judges part?where do i file next?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Edward Hoffman |
That depends on which court denied your petition. Saying that it was "in California" narrows it down, but there are at least five courts you could be talking about -- the Superior Court, the California Court of Appeal, the California Supreme Court, the U.S. District Court or the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. That is generally the order in which you will want to approach the courts, followed potentially by a petition to the U.S. Supreme Court.
Bear in mind that what you say was "clearly" an error may not have been an error at all, or at least not a clear one. Few laypeople understand the nuances of habeas corpus law, and fewer still can evaluate their own cases impartially. You should consult with an experienced appellate attorney as soon as possible.
Feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your case in more detail. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office Of Patrick L. McCrary
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Law Office of Joe Dane
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 990
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Search Questions and Answers


