Texas | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
If you have stopped paying all my credit cards about 3 yrs ago. can the IRS send you 1099 to pay taxes on this unpaid bal.?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Andrew Nichols |
The IRS would not send a 1099 however the creditors could do so. If the debts are considered cancelled or charged off then the creditor may try this tactic. This is another reason why bankruptcy is a good option. When a person successfully completes a bankruptcy case the debts are declared "discharged" and no creditors can send you a 1099. Please visit our website at www.northtexasdebtfreedom.com |
Top Attorneys in TX
Law Office of S. Keith Engelke
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 1565
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
Cheng Copeland PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 419
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-24
Lawrence J. Maun, P.C.
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 249
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-06
Law Office of Andrew B. Nichols
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 206
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Bennett, Weston, & LaJone, P.C.
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 131
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-15
Law Office of Andrew B. Nichols
Dallas, TX
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-19
Law Office of Greg Wiley PLLC
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Michael A. Dover, PC
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-09-10
Search Questions and Answers


