New York  |  Credit and Debt Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/07/12, 12:13 pm

I have student loans that are in default. I just got papers Friday in the mail that says the are going to seize my property and garnish my wages. I live on $1010.00 in social security disability while supporting my 14 year old goddaughter who lives with me. The only thing i have of value is my 2006 pt cruiser that i paid about $7,000 for in 2009, a tv worth $19.99 from salvation army and a laptop that's worth about $350 when it was new. I don't live in an area where I can take public transportation. I bought the car with my back s.s. disability so i would have reliable transportation to my Dr. appointments. Can they take my car and my disability money. I also have a stereo system that is at least 7 or 8 years old and i didn't pay much over $100 when it was new. I am so poor i can't afford to live alone. The only way I can afford insurance and upkeep on the car is to live with my mother and brother. I also need a car to take my goddaughter to see her dad or appointments.

1 Answer


Answered on: 5/07/12, 7:11 pm by David Slater

They must first obtain a money judgment against you. Certain assets are exempt from levy in NY.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

153 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search