Massachusetts | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Can a subcontractor file a mechanic's lien in MA when the its been over 90 days since he worked on the project?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Craig J. Tiedemann |
The answer to this is likely 'yes' and 'no.' Here's what I mean. Generally there is nothing to prevent a subcontractor from filing papers purporting to claim a mechanics lien to secure payment for performed work. The mere act of filing the papers, however, does not mean the lien is valid and enforceable.
For example, in your case, if the work was truly last performed more than ninety days from the lien filing, you might be able to discharge the filing under the applicable statutory provision, but this could cost time and money to do and success is never guaranteed. This is the misfortune of the lien statute; invalid/unenforceable lien filings must be dealt with, which itself can give the sub leverage in negotiating a settlement.
However, where subs know the filing is invalid but file it anyway, they often simply fail to follow through with the many steps required by statute to "perfect" and enforce the lien, which results in automatic dissolution of the lien under the statute. For example, the statute requires the lien filer to initiate a Superior Court lawsuit within a specified period of time after the filing, which is expensive and often requires the sub to hire counsel to pursue that required case to perfect the lien. If the sub knows the filing can't ultimately be enforced, many simply don't follow through with the lawsuit required (or meet the many other strict requirements), resulting in dissolution of the lien. In the interim, however, the filing appears on the record and, again, can give the sub leverage in negotiating settlement.
I have lots of experience here. Feel free to contact me to discuss further.
|
Top Attorneys in MA
Law Offices of Henry Lebensbaum (978-749-3606)
Andover, MA
Questions Answered: 4048
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Donovan Hatem LLP
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 2954
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
VAUGHN-MARTEL LAW
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1899
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Joseph M. Murray, Esq.
East Bridgewater, MA
Questions Answered: 1716
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Qua, Hall, Harvey & Walsh
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 1211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Alan J. Pransky
Dedham, MA
Questions Answered: 858
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
TIEDEMANN LAW FIRM (TLF)
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 540
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Jameson & Cooper
Wellesley, MA
Questions Answered: 373
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-27
Attorney Paul Lancia
Fall River, MA
Questions Answered: 372
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-27
Search Questions and Answers


