Pennsylvania | Disability Law
Legal Question
If I get a subpoena to testify do I have to go? Can I plea the 5th?...or what?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Roger Traversa |
Yes, you must comply with a lawfully issued subpoena. Failure to do so could result in the imposition of court penalties. And yes, you can plead the Fifth. But, if this is a civil matter then the court can instruct the jury, or if no jury, can infer that your answers are in the affirmative. Alternatively, the court can compel you to testify if it believes you are improperly claiming the privilege against sel-incrimination just to frustrate the court.
Regards,
Roger |
Top Attorneys in PA
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 420
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Dessen, Moses & Rossitto
Willow Grove, PA
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-24
Law Office of Charles Weiner
Bensalem, PA
Questions Answered: 85
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-02
Duffy Law, LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 81
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 45
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Search Questions and Answers


