California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
Hi I need to know if I can sue my apartment for trying to evict me. This is the story I had to pay my June rent late because of my daughter's need, diapers etc. The last day to pay rent is on the 20th then they send it over to the attorney's to start the eviction process. I didn't receive my unemployment check till the 23rd. I was told by a young lady in the office that I could do a buy back as long as the legal fees didn't exceed $300 dollars. So I started calling the office June 21st or 22nd to find out how much the fees were if they were any at all. The man in the office said to me he will call them and find out and get back to me, however he never did. I called pretty much everyday but he never did what he was suppose to. This eviction process could have been avoided had he called the attorney's and got back to me. I also have the receipt for the rent with the late fee which could have been paid but you can not pay it unless you also have the money for the attorney fees which I didn't know because the man never got back to me still to this day and I know the attorney fees exceeds $300 now and I will be evicted so now I'm just waiting to be served and I feel like its his fault had he called and gave me the information he was supposed to. Is there anything I can do about this?


