Georgia | Medical Leave
Legal Question
can i sue for back overtime wages.they would owe me for 2 years worth.but i dont work for them now its been 4 mths.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gregory Fidlon |
Unless you meet one or more of the "exemptions" under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), you are entitled to be paid overtime for all hours worked in excess of 40 in a given work week. The statute of limitations under the FLSA is 2 years, but can be extended to 3 years if a willful violation is proven. This means, if you were to file a lawsuit today and win, you would be entitled to recover unpaid overtime going back at least 2 years from the date of filing. You are also typically entitled to recover liquidated damages, which means you double the amount of the unpaid overtime, plus interest and attorneys' fees. I recommend that you consult with an attorney, such as myself, experienced at handling FLSA cases in GA. We offer a free initial consultation by phone. If you are interested, please click the link below and complete our free consultation request form.
http://www.fidlonlegal.com/consultation_request.html
LEGAL NOTICE: This forum is designed to provide general information only. The information provided does not constitute legal advice and no attorney-client relationship has been established. You waive any right to confidentiality by posting information on this site. Communications on this site do not and cannot substitute for a full consultation with an attorney practicing in your jurisdiction, and you are encouraged to consult with such an attorney for guidance regarding your individual circumstances. Do not take any action or inaction based on information presented herein since it may not be accurate or applicable to you. |
Top Attorneys in GA
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5579
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Cyrus K. Malekabadi
Alpharetta, GA
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Tran Lankford, Attorney at Law
Decatur, GA
Questions Answered: 136
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-13
Law Offices of Gregory R. Fidlon, P.C.
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 112
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Taggart Morton
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-02
Barrett & Farahany, LLP
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-03-13
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Law Offices of Patricia A. Chandler
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-04-27
Search Questions and Answers


