Washington | Tax Law
Legal Question
Can I sue The California Franchise Tax Board? Thay have claimed I owe state tax for two seperate years that I haven't been employeed and move out of state before these years.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Christopher Larson |
No. You generally cannot sue a jurisdiction for mistakenly thinking you owe them taxes. This is because, 1) that is the way it has always been for all taxes, and 2) the state controls the court system in which you would bring a lawsuit.
However, all of them provide a means to challenge the assessment of a tax. You should get a hold of the FTB yourself and explain your situation. As what form you need to file to challenge this. Do not rely on oral communications. Tell them you want to challenge it in some form of writing, and you would like a written response.
If this fails, or you are running short on time, you might need to hire an attorney in CA. Henry Lively is a very good one down there. A Washington lawyer would not be effective to challenge a CA state tax as most won't be licensed in CA, and won't have constant dealings with the FTB. CA tax attorneys deal with them all of the time.
Christopher Larson Insight Law www.insightlawfirm.com |
Top Attorneys in WA
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 420
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 250
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Wershow & Ritter, Inc. P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 93
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-21
Thuong-Tri Legal Services, PLLC
Renton, WA
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-03
Weitz Law Firm, PLLC
Kirkland, WA
Questions Answered: 51
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-31
Jay A. Goldstein Law Office
Olympia, WA
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-07-29
Insight Law
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-31
Countryman & McDaniel
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-14
The Law Offices of Matthew R. King, PLLC
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 2
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Search Questions and Answers


