Texas | Family Law
Legal Question
I am being sued for child support. I am the mother of the child and I am being sued by my child's grandmother (father's side). My son is 17 years old. I have never claimed my son for earned income credit on my taxes...If my child's granparents have claimed him every year for Earned income credit on their taxes, why can't I claim this credit or atleast a portion of this credit to decrease my backpay? If I had been paying child support all this time, wouldn't I had/have been able to claim him every other year on my taxes?


