Florida  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/01/12, 11:40 pm

Legal Question


I was sued by a lawyer here in Florida representing Discover Card. I filed an answer with the court listing my affirmative defenses. There were about 8 points in the Plaintiff's filing, to which I answered, "Deny and Demand proof thereof", and then I listed my affirmative defenses. I filed the Answer with the court before the allotted deadline and sent a copy to the Plaintiff. It's been about two months and I've heard nothing. Should I file a motion for summary judgment or should I just wait, and if so, for how long can I expect to wait before the Plaintiff responds? Is there a length of time when the matter just expires if the Plaintiff fails to respond? I think this debt was purchased by a lawyer who files, hoping for a default judgment, and may not be able to assert the complaint. I know -- "See a lawyer" --- but I'm broke.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search