Have you considered initiating action in Japan? Depending on how long she has been there, Arizona may not have jurisdiction over the children. In that instance, Arizona can get you SINGLE, but could not enter orders regarding custody, support, property or debt. There may also be personal jurisdiction issues.
Even if you DID get her "served" while in Japan, you may have "HAGUE CONVENTION" issues. because I am not at all familiar with those, I would suggest you find immediately a Family Law attorney familiar with Hague Convention. I know time is of the essence in those matters, so I would suggest you act quickly.
If you would care to proceed with ONLY the divorce issues, we can assist. Please call me if that is the case.
/s/ Rich J. Peters
R.J. Peters & Assoc., P.C.
1422 North 2nd Street, Suite 100
Phoenix, Arizona 85004
602-254-7251
facsimile 602-254-1229
see our website at www.familylawaz.com