California | Business Law
Legal Question
I want to switch from a sole proprietor to an LLC. Is this a merger or new LLC?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Richard Jefferson |
This is a new LLC which means that everything will need to be converted to the LLC (i.e., new bank account, new licenses, contracts, etc.) |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
There are no legal provisions allowing conversion, merger, etc. of a sole proprietorship into another business organization or structure. Therefore, you will have to transfer your sole proprietorship business into an LLC (either one newly formed for the purpose, or al already-existing LLC) stick-by-stick. This does not mean starting over from scratch, but neither is it terribly simple.
The first step is to identify or create the target LLC. If you need or want a new one, form it by filling out and filing a Secretary of State Form LLC-1. Look at www.ss.ca.gov for the form and instructions.
Then, "sell" the business to the LLC. Use a bill of sale and get paid (cashed out). Of course, the LLC will pretty much be paying for your business with your money. The key thing here is that you must recognize all along that the LLC is not you, and you are not the LLC, even if you own 100% of it. Your separate identites and separate pocketbooks must be recognized. When you put money into the LLC to capitalize it, write a personal check to the LLC noted as "investment in LLC." Then, write an LLC check to yourself, labeled "purchase of business from John Doe, proprietor." That way, you'll own the LLC and the LLC will own the formerly sole-proprietorship business.
As Mr. Jefferson says, your new LLC will need a taxpayer ID number, a bank account, a reseller's permit (if appropriate), a business license, and so forth. If you have a lease for business premises, you need to discuss its transfer to the LLC with your landlord. If you have employees, they need to be hired by the LLC ........ and on and on. Still, its a worth while exercise for many growing businesses. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10414
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


