Oklahoma  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
7/04/11, 4:14 pm

Legal Question


My teen age daughter became uncontrollable and running down the road. The cars going by thought I was abusing her, and called the cops. I wasnt arrested, and cps did an investigation and closed the case. I was on probation for a DUI from a couple of years ago, but I had paid all my fines, etc, and my officer told me not to worry about coming in or calling every month. Well, since the cps said they had no issues after the investigation, I put it behind me. That was October of last year. I called the court house about an unrelated issue, and the clerk told me I had a warrant for a failure to appear, related to probation violation somehow from the incident with my daughter. Evidently the DA decided to prosecute. I was never notified, and evidently my probation officer wasnt either. Now I have this warrant, and I live 3 hours from the warrant. I have the report from cps where they found nothing, a statement from my po where she released me from monthly check in, even history where my daughter has done this with my ex wife and myself before where we had to call the cops and get her under control.

The first day I can get away from work is thursday. I plan on going down there and just taking care of it. Here is my question...

What should I expect? Will I automaticly be arrested, and have to bail out? Will I get to explain the situation to a judge and perhaps get a recognince bond? Do I need a lawyer when I walk in the door?

Ive called the county clerks office, and one lady was really helpful, but all the rest have been really dismissive, telling me to call someone else. Much of the same at the da's office.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search