Nevada | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
tenant makes check out for 3rd of month. landlady cashes on the 1st. tenant then has a overdrawn charge on bank account.. is this legal
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Rick Williams |
I am not clear if you are looking to recover from the bank or from the landlady.
Let's look first at the bank. In the modern, automated banking world, tellers are not expected to check the date on everything that is slid across the counter to them for deposit or cashing. In Nevada this is codified at NRS 104.4401(3): "A bank may charge against the account of a customer a check that is otherwise properly payable from the account, even though payment was made before the date of the check, unless the customer has given notice to the bank of the postdating describing the check with reasonable certainty."
In plain English, unless you warned the bank ahead of time that you were making out a post-dated check to the landlady, so they could alert their tellers to not accept it ahead of the date, they cannot be held responsible for cashing it prior to the date on the check. They are right to charge the overdraft fee.
Now, you may have a good argument with your landlady for cashing it before you authorized, but if you delivered it to her prior to the date on the check, it would be hard to hold her responsible for your overdraft fee. You might be able to make an argument in small claims court, but it would hardly be worth the time and effort you would invest to chase after it.
Bottom line is that should not get in the habit of writing checks with instructions - in whatever format - that they cannto be negotiated for some period of time. Try to manage your calendar better or to make alternative arrangements to have it delivered when there is money in the bank to back it up. |
Top Attorneys in NV
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Law Offices of Frederick D. (Rick) Williams, Chtd.
Sparks, NV
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-21
Carr Law Office
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-04
LAUB & LAUB
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
GREGORY LAW FIRM, PLC.
Surprise, AZ
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
The Hopp Law Firm, LLC
Denver, CO
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


