North Carolina  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
1/20/12, 10:20 am

Legal Question


I am a tenant, renting house in pineville nc ,1250.00 mth signed lease dec 19 and took residence gave pro-rAte of 650.00 for remainder of dec. and 1300.00 deposit . my husband and i were late on jan rent she just recieved 1250.00 and we told her that we would give the "100.00" late fee in a couple of days she said its 100.00/wk that shocked us my husband asked is that legal her response : its in the lease the question i have is - Is that legal to charge a tenant 100.00 dollars late fee for every week we are late the last house was 50.00 one time for the mth this sounds really strange what do we do ?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search