New Jersey | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
If a tenent defaults on a rental lease and there is a co-signer, it the co-signer fully obligated to honor the terms of the lease?
If a tenent defaults on a rental lease and there is a co-signer, it the co-signer fully obligated to honor the terms of the lease?
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Gleaner |
By definition, the co-signer is fully obligated to do what is required under the lease if the tenant does not.
Keep in mind that this advice is based purely on the little bit of information that you have given to me. There may be other factors that would change my opinion. Further, no one can rely on advice from an attorney who has not been retained. Since it appears that you have not retained an attorney, before you take any further action, you should contact an attorney (either me or someone else) to discuss your matter in more detail. Only then will you be able to rely on the advice. I will be happy to assist you. Feel free to call me at 856-546-8010. If you mention LawGuru, there will be no charge for your first consultation. Good luck! Rob Gleaner |
|
Read More Answered By: Walter LeVine |
I agree, but I have not seen the lease, so this is a general response. |
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Florham Park, NJ
Questions Answered: 4123
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 3591
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Evesham, NJ
Questions Answered: 2017
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1388
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Audubon, NJ
Questions Answered: 1217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Questions Answered: 630
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
► Hi i have a question about a tax lien on my condo by the city for unpaid water...
► What if i am being sued by someone for a vehicle that is in my name but they have...
► I agreed to a price reduction when I sold my home. I gave my lawyer power of...
► Good Day, about 2 years ago i was looking for space to house my business equipment...
► My dad is willing to purchase a mobile home with me. Since I'm involved in a Short...
► My landlord after 13 years of renting has raised my rent this year from 1860-2100....
► We are looking to sign a long term lease for renting a house. We are renters, and it...
More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New Jersey| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press