Texas  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
10/19/11, 5:43 pm

Legal Question


Our Texas divorce was final June 2011. My ex signed a Special Warranty Deed in our Final Divorce Decree allowing me to sign a Deed of Assumption on our marital home. I have Homestead exemption on this property. Two weeks ago, I was fortunate enough to have a buyer anxious to purchase the home. I hoped to close Oct 14, 2011, but the title search found an Abstract of Judgment filed May 2011 against my ex for breaking a lease he made after we separated. The lawyer (and owner of the leased property) will not agree to release the judgment until he receives his money, $5000. My husband and I separated Feb 2009. I assumed and made all payments on my property and have kept the payments current. I had no knowledge of this Abstract of Judgment; nor do I have any part in my ex's actions. Do I have any other options -other than paying the $5000 to obtain the release- even though I was not responsible for the actions that brought about this judgment?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search