Maryland | Business Law
5/24/11, 6:09 pm
Legal Question
What is theft of service and how do you get a client to pay for services rendered?
What is theft of service and how do you get a client to pay for services rendered?
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
File a complaint in District Court and serve the Defendant. Depending on the amount of your claim you may need to file in Circuit Court. Contact me to discuss. |
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Sher |
If someone tenders a check they know is bad due to insufficient funds or because it's written on a closed account, for the purpose of inducing the performance of services, it can be prosecuted as theft of services. Once the check is returned unpaid, you should notify the client that if they don't make good on the check within 10 days you will refer the matter for criminal prosecution to the state's attorney. The prosecutor must be convinced that the person knew at the outset that the check was bad and had the intent to defraud you, not just that they wrote the check and it later bounced because they didn't keep good track of their balance. This is where the 10 day period comes into play. |
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Severn, MD
Questions Answered: 128
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-17
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
► Ascot & Berns, CPAs, was contracted to provide tax advice and return preparation...
► Llc law can a husband get separate shares in a business if the wife is the president...
► If your supervisor signs your timesheet every week knowing the times on it are...
► Business partnership ended in Ma 2010. He still continues to operate business in MD...
► Does this bill of sale include a clause stating when the seller has to vacate the...
► Is it necessary to have at least a 2% difference between two business partners when...
► Informational control rule hearsay rule tarasoff case
More Business Law questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press