California | Employment Law
I was told by my boss that I “have to come into the office” today and then asked to leave about 20 minutes later and not return until further notice.
I needed work done urgently on my car when it didn't drive right the night before. I sent him a text message this morning to let him know I will be taking it to the mechanics. We exchanged text messages which lead to him telling me I did not get prior approval and “have to come into the office.”
Upon my arrival, we had a brief discussion about his belief in my reason for not coming into the office which I did not agree to be true. He believes it was because I "made a face" during a discussion the day before that my decision to not go into the office the following day was my "way of reacting." I stood by that I was out because I felt an urgent need to take care of my car which is my family's only form of transportation (I am a single mother). He also asked if I couldn’t have looked for alternative ways to get to work such as take a cab or call him for a ride. I said I did not think in such a way because I also have my daughter to drop off and pick up from school (my son is on Spring Break).
I got my oil changed during the check up at the mechanics and learned I also needed tires “badly.” One of them is balding so badly the metal is showing. I was advised to get new tires immediately before I get a blowout.
I arrived at 1:25 pm to the office. At approximately 1:40 pm, after our brief discussion, he said he could not allow me to sign in and asked that I leave the office until further notice. I had not received any verbal or written warning or notice prior to this event. I asked if I can pack my personal belongings at which point he asked for his keys back.
We ended and agreed that he would be contacting me within two (2) days to schedule a meeting with a Human Resources personnel which we have not had before even when I had inquired about an HR contact.
I am his only employee and I have never as much been written up. I have worked for him for a little over 2 years.
I don’t know how to respond to this situation and to the meeting with him and this new HR contact.


