California | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
I was told I had 30 days to respond to interrogatories if hand served and 35 days if sent in mail. But what if they were emailed to me and then followed up by mail then how long do I have to respond.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Edward Hoffman |
Do you have an agreement with the other side to accept service via email? Have you filed anything electronically with the court? If the answer to either of these questions is yes, then the email was valid service and you have 32 days to respond. If the answer to both questions is no, then the email probably did not qualify as service. You were instead served by mail and have 35 days, unless the court has ordered otherwise or you and the other parties have agreed to a different amount of time.
There are a limited number of other situations where service is allowed (or even required) via email. These include class actions, complex litigation, consolidated actions, etc., if your court's local rules allow electronic service in those cases. I don't know anything about your case, including what court it's in, so I can't say whether any of these provisions applies.
Note that, if this is an unlawful detainer case (an eviction), you really have only five days. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13881
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10409
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6470
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


