Illinois  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
5/12/11, 8:05 am

Legal Question


I had at a tonsillectomy, septoplasty, and a turbinate reduction performed on me in the hospital in April 2009. At my follow up appointment, my ENT told me that I now have a hole in my septum but said that sometimes that happens during the surgery. My nose is now worse than it has ever been.(Before the suregery, I never knew that I had any problems with my nose-I just went to him for the tonsils issue) Since I have a hole in my septum and a third of my turbinates were removed, I get crusts that I cannot get out and majorly "weird" headaches from the nose area. My nose is never clear and the inside is always swollen. I fear that I have to deal with this the rest of my life! The biggest thing is this...I NEVER had any problems with my nose! NOW I DO!!! I totally regret ever having any nasal surgeries. Before the surgery,the ENT did NOT tell me that there was any risk of perforations in the septum as a result of this surgery-if he had, I would not have gotten it. My question is....is a hole in the septum a usual complication of this surgery or can I sue him for making me have to deal with nasal problems the rest of my life when I never had any to begin with?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search