California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
9/22/11, 12:05 am

Legal Question


I have a trailer that was purchased through a bank loan company in 1996, in 1997 I was informed that it was sold (transferred) to a different bank. Payments were made to the newly acquired bank per their payment requirement until 2000, at this time I could not make the payments any longer so it affected my credit, finally coming off of my credit 12/2010. This week 9/2011 I received a collections notice from a debt collector who apparently got information from the first original bank from back in 1996. Is this possible? Even though it had already been addressed through the second bank? How do I handle this?

Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search