California | Investment Law
10/28/11, 12:45 pm
Legal Question
How do I transfer a stock check I received to my daughter and she will claim it as income on her 2011 tax return?
How do I transfer a stock check I received to my daughter and she will claim it as income on her 2011 tax return?
|
Read More Answered By: Timothy McCormick |
You can't. If it was issued to you in your name, it's your income. |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
I don't agree. Dividend payers and financial institutions don't always know the beneficial owner of securities. For example, a divorced couple I know split their stock ownership in a small business between them, but the dividend checks keep coming in his name. He pays half of it to her, and each reports half the income, attaching an explanatory statement to their separate tax returns as to why the 1099 information and the reported income don't match. Neither has had their returns questioned in 10+ years. Nevertheless, I'd caution you that arbitrarily shifting income from one person to another (e.g., to take advantage of a lower bracket) is illegal. You must be certain the income truly belongs to the person declaring it. |
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10414
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 250
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tustin, CA
Questions Answered: 89
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Questions Answered: 50
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-11
► How do I get my premium refund from an LLC company that refuses to honor their...
► Do great grand children automatically get a piece of an estate?
► I invested (yes I do have a promissory note to pay me back) $5000 dollars in a legal...
► I own some notes and the servicer of the notes has a percentage fee taken out each...
► My late husband has a Contract value payment payed out every year for 3 more years...
► How this form would be properly completed on behalf of either of these scenarios...
► We are married and have some stock in Jt. Do we need 2 signatures to sell all of it?...
More Investment Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press