New York  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
2/02/12, 7:06 am

Legal Question


What is a trustee? My friend is starting a foundation to help protect against elder abuse because of a situation that involved her mom. I have been besides her supporting her since she began the process. She wants to make me a trustee but I have no idea what it means! I won’t be getting paid and she says I won’t have to do much but she isn’t explaining it as well as I would like.

Do I have to do something as trustee? I'm not getting paid so it’s nothing I have to report to the IRS, right? If she writes something on the website that causes a law suit, could I be involved? Don’t feel like being sued and she seems to want to attack people on the website. Please advise!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search