Kansas | Family Law
Legal Question
Can u cohabitate while receiving allamony?If a exhusband not have to pay.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Rian Ankerholz |
The terms of the divorce will control that issue. Some spousal maintenance (formerly called alimony) awards are guaranteed as to duration, and are not terminable even if cohabitation occurs.
However, most spousal maintenance awards are terminable if cohabitation is proven. In Kansas, the only case of which we are aware wherein maintenance was successfully terminated, and the trial court's decision was upheld by the Kansas Court of Appeals, is In re Marriage of Solar, 240 P.3d 626 (Kan.App. 2010). Although our law office was successful in handling that case, cohabitation is quite difficult to prove. That is because cohabitation is not "just" living together. The definition involves both parties assuming many marital rights, duties and obligations which are usually manifested by married people.
Consult an experienced family law attorney. |
Top Attorneys in KS
LawSmith
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Ankerholz and Smith
Overland Park, KS
Questions Answered: 345
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Bonnie J. Selby, Attorney at Law
Goodland, KS
Questions Answered: 240
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-04-05
Grant Griffiths
Clay Center, KS
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-07-14
Law Office of Mark A. Reiter, LLC
Kansas City, MO
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-10-04
Law Office of Adam Mack
Topeka, KS
Questions Answered: 27
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-23
The Legal Resource Center
Lees Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-11-30
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
OLLER, JOHNSON & BITTEL, L.L.C.
Hays, KS
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-11-06
Michael T. Wilson, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Wichita, KS
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-01-28
Search Questions and Answers


