Pennsylvania | Personal Injury
Legal Question
An underage minor left my house after drinking alcohol. He was involved in a car accident and was injured. How much trouble am I in?
An underage minor left my house after drinking alcohol. He was involved in a car accident and was injured. How much trouble am I in?
|
Read More Answered By: Greg Artim |
ALOT. You certainly can and should be charged criminally. In addtion, you very well could get sued for the damages and any resulting injuries. |
|
Read More Answered By: Terence Sean McGraw |
There are potential civil and criminal ramifications that may or may not arise. Certain factors increase the risk of criminal prosecution. If you knowingly served a minor, you definitiely committed a crime and, if implicated, will likely be prosecuted.
Certain factors increase the risk of a lawsuit for monetary damages. Such a a suit is based on "social host liability" and may not be covered by insurance. Your personal assets may be at risk.
It is impossible give you accurate advice based upon the small amount of information in your question. THe best advice I can give you is to seek the advice of an attorney sooner rather than later.
This answer to your legal inquiry is based upon the limited facts stated in your question. Accurate legal advice is based upon an exchange between a lawyer and a client. The lawyer can then ask about other facts that may change or confirm the answer. Without that exchange, this reply should be considered limited in value. You should rely on this answer only at your own risk. Direct consultation with a lawyer is always recommended. Answering your question does not create an attorney-client relationship.
|
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 684
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-16
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 616
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
► I just got a citaton for causing a traffic accident with damages how long will this...
► I was rear ended on February 13, 2009 and the 2 year statute of limitations is...
► I have personal injury case in progress. it due to negigence and is not disputed by...
► My cars were struck in the parking lot of my apartment complex. Two boys stole a...
► When you are a plaintiff in case that is going to be presented in magesterial court...
► I settled with the defendant on a full tort suit claim approximately 2+ weeks ago...
► I was in a rear end collision 10/03/2009, I have since done more than 40 physical...
More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Pennsylvania| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press