Virginia  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/12/12, 8:59 pm

I am an unwed mother living in the state of VA. My child's father signed the birth certificate and a voluntary acknowledgement of paternity. We never went to court for child support or visitation. I would like to know if I have sole legal and physical custody. If not what do I need to do to obtain it? My child's father is very hostile towards me and refuse to help me out when I need an information from him or to give me a document needed to obtain a service for my daughter....I need to be able to make decisions for my daughter without counting on him because he wants to make my life difficult. I am not opposed to visitations and despite my ex's attempts to alienate me, encourage a healthy relationship with his child! Thank you for your help!

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

196 Answers given in the last few hours.

7577 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search